• Donna Magtibay, MSN, RN

The Reiki Way of Life

Updated: Aug 18, 2019

Reiki is an energy healing modality that works on the body, mind, and spirit to stimulate the body’s own natural healing abilities. In order for the body to heal and/or for one to be an effective Reiki practitioner, the 5 Reiki Principles were developed as the 'secret to inviting happiness'. We will explore each of these principles in the next several blog posts.

Reiki is an energy healing modality that aims to remove blockages and/or increase the flow of energy around and throughout the body. Its holistic approach works on the body, mind, and spirit to stimulate the body’s own natural healing abilities.

Healing differs from curing. The goal of allopathic medicine is to cure or eradicate disease whereas Reiki aims to heal or restore balance and harmony. Restoring balance and harmony allows the body, mind and spirit to heal itself. This often results in relaxation, pain reduction, improved healing, and reduced symptoms of illness. In order to to maintain the healing and/or to enhance the healing, the recipient of Reiki must play an active role in their healing. This may include changes in lifestyle, beliefs, thought patterns, friends, etc. The Reiki principles assist in adding balance and perspectives to ones life.

Not only must the recipients play an active role in their healing, the Reiki practitioners must also work toward becoming their highest self. Mikao Usui, the founder of Reiki, believed that in order for anyone to practice Reiki and transfer healing energy to others, they must have first taken responsibility for their own health and wellbeing. He developed five principles which he taught to his students as strategies to apply to life. He considered the five Reiki principals to be the "secret of inviting happiness." He believed the principles to be a medicine for all people and all diseases because they teach us to focus on positive emotions while releasing the rest.

The Reiki principles are intended for you to remember and reflect on in order to help add balance and perspective to your life. No one is expected to adhere to them as rules.

They are spiritual guidelines that enable you to work on yourself each day, without any added pressure or guilt. The five Reiki principles are:

Just for today:

I will let go of anger

I will not worry

I will show appreciation for my blessings

I will do my work honestly

I will be kind to every living thing

Even though it might seem a bit overwhelming to live by all five of this principles every single day, you can start today by trying just one. We will explore each of the principles in subsequent posts.

  • Facebook